I've been giving some serious thought as to why there has been such an uproar over the 'Shelia is not my sister' bag.
Leaving aside idealogical issues, I'm starting to form a vague hypothesis:
People are reacting so negatively to this because this particular branch of feminism is constantly under attack, so therefore the subscribers are sensitive to criticism leveled against them. This doesnt only hold true for supporters of Sheila Jeffries, but for most marginalised (or misunderstood, or non-mainstream, or hardline, or whatever) groups.
When something you love and deeply believe in is called into question by people who are at odds with your beliefs, it's easy and understandable to view only the perceived threat rather than trying to take a critical, analytical view of what is being said.
We're all guilty of it; we all have our triggers. Maybe what we all need to do is learn to respect the rights of other people to hold opinions that are completely at odds to our own, and to recognise that 'I dont agree' is simply an opinion, and not an attack. To mangle a quote, I dont beleive in your ideals, but I will defend to the death your right to hold them.
Heh. I wish people actually read this blog, because I'd be interested to see other people's take on it.
Tuesday, June 2, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
3 comments:
I agree, but I'll add a few things.
Allecto doesn't acknowledge any kind of crime committed by women. Her posts are full of misandry and seem to absolutely ignore reality, reason, and verifiable facts.
I am sorry to say that most of the feminists I've come across thus far are guilty of one, some, or all of the above points.
Because of this, I don't follow feminism. I question it all the time and lash out at those who lecture me on how I MUST be grateful for what it has done for me.
Most of the time, I am met with "you're a woman hater", and have even been told to "go suck a dick". No reason, no facts, no logical or respectful dialogue at all.
You and Hexy have both impressed me with your posts. You are both respectful of the beliefs of others, even if they don't match your own and you disagree with them wholeheartedly. Allecto shows no such virtues.
I dont read Allecto, but that sounds pretty grim.
We're all guilty of it in some way; I dont think we can ever divorce ourselves from our bias, but I think we should all strive to at least consider there may be other opinions or beliefs that lie outside of our own.
and have even been told to "go suck a dick".
Wow.
Just.
Wow.
When did that become and insult?
And thank you for the compliment :) I'm only just venturing forth into vocally contributing to the whole thing (my rants usually go to hex and Tek via email, heh) and to be honest, Im enjoying the challenge of the various viewpoints. When you stop learning, stop questioning, you stop living.
Oh yes, I really do agree that the radfems have a siege mentality, because they are so sick of being mocked and despised. Also, held up as the "scary" side of feminism, and as a direct descendant of radical feminist politics, might make radfems feel their feminism is at one end of a spectrum of radicalness, rather than one in a melee of different takes on the issue. And if you think you are at the hardcore end of feminism, you view everything else as a "sellout" to patriarchy. Also, that view is very satisfying, as it makes you feel noble. It does tend towards absolutist rigid politics though. I also think that the fact that radfem politics depend upon focussing on pain and suffering to a high degree, that radfems often naturally segue towards using the tactic of "she who hurts most, wins" in arguments.
Post a Comment